Two CHAS Alumnae Received Outstanding Thesis Awards

Congratulations are in order for Alissa Cornick (Languages and Literatures) and Katelyn Santy (Communication Studies). Cornick was awarded the Outstanding Master’s Creative Thesis Award. Santy was presented the Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award. Both were awarded by the UNI Graduate College.

Cornick’s thesis title was Apothecary and Other Stories: A Short Fiction Collection. James O’Loughlin, the chair of her committee, nominated her. The other committee members were Jeremy Schraffenberger and Grant Tracey.

Cornick offered her feelings about the award. “My thoughts are full of happiness and, certainly, gratefulness to my committee, the program on the whole and many friends and writing peers. I’ve never been an especially confident writer, so I feel very lucky to have had the chance to get so much great feedback on the stories in my thesis. Without everyone, I’d probably have spent a lot more time despairing dramatically about writing instead of actually writing!”

Santy won the Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award for her thesis Where Loyalties Lie: A Study of Workplace Dissent Through the Lens of Loyalty. Santy’s thesis committee consisted of Jayne Morgan (chair), Tom Hall, and Cate Palczewski. Santy said, “I am very honored to be selected for the Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award. I really enjoyed learning about my thesis topic and developing my project; it’s a true honor to be recognized in this way. I’m especially grateful to the faculty members who helped shape my approach to the project. I know I stole a great many office hours from my thesis chair, Dr. Jayne Morgan, as well as my committee members, Dr. Tom Hall and Dr. Cate Palczewski.”

Congratulations again to both of these outstanding students.