CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The University of Northern Iowa Department of Physics hosted the State of Iowa Physics Competition Wednesday, April 11, in the McLeod Center on the UNI campus.

Approximately 250 students from 30 different schools participated. Marquette Catholic High School placed first, led by instructor Karen Timmerman; Washington High School placed second, led by instructor Jeff Richard; and Wahlert Catholic High School placed third, led by Tom Stierman, in the overall school team competition.

Individual event winners were Ogden High School in the self-propelled catapult event, led by instructor John Fuller; Marquette Catholic High School in the mousetrap car event; Cedar Falls High School in the bridge building event, led by instructor Kenton Swartley; Washington High School in the soda straw arm event; Emmetsburg High School in the challenge problem event, led by instructor Jared Pickett; and St. Ansgar High School in the materials recovery facility event, led by instructor Devin Schwiesow.

For more information, contact Larry Escalada, UNI professor of physics and science education, at 319-273-2431