UNI Alumni Awarded the Excellence in Science Teaching Award

Three UNI Alumni were awarded the 2013 Excellence in Science Teaching Award from the Iowa Academy of Science. Three out of five awardees were UNI alumni. Winners of the award include Troy D. Schwemm, Lisa Jo Chizek and Matthew Harding.

The award honors teachers in the area of science education who excel in their work and innovations. Awardees receive a plaque and a $200 award at an honorary luncheon.

Schwemm teaches Earth/space/environmental science at Southeast Polk High School in Pleasant Hill, Iowa.

Chizek teaches elementary science at North Tama Elementary in Traer, Iowa.

Harding teaches physical science at West High School in Iowa City, Iowa. Harding was also a recipient of the Yager Exemplary Science and Mathematics Teach Awards in 2012.

Congratulations to all three of our UNI alumni.