### **State of Iowa Physics Competition Results**

#### **SUMMARY**

The University of Northern Iowa Department of Physics hosted the State of Iowa Physics Competition from 9 am to 2:30 pm in the UNI Maucker Union Ballrooms on Tuesday, April 8, 2025. See <a href="https://chas.uni.edu/physics/outreach/physics-competition">https://chas.uni.edu/physics/outreach/physics-competition</a> for more information about the Physics Competition.

Approximately 160 students from 19 different schools in the state of Iowa participated in the state competition. Participating schools include:

- Allamakee
- Cedar Falls
- Cedar Valley Homeschool
- Central Lee
- Clayton Ridge
- Denver
- Dubuque Hempstead
- Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont
- Hillcrest Academy
- Manson Northwest Webster
- Marquette Catholic
- Moulton-Udell
- Nashua-Plainfield
- Ottumwa
- Pleasant Valley
- Saint Ansgar
- St Edmond Catholic School
- Tripoli
- West Central

The winners for the overall Physics Competition and each event follow. More detailed results are on Google Sheets also shared with schools. Congratulations to all the participating teachers and students who helped make this year's state competition a success.

### 2025 State Physics Competition School Team Winners

Place:	School:	<b>Instructors:</b>
1 <sup>st</sup> Place	Allamakee	Julie Lenth
2 <sup>nd</sup> Place	Pleasant Valley	Brianna Finnegan
3 <sup>rd</sup> Place	Denver	Jared Picket

# **2025 State Physics Competition Event Winners**

## <u>Catapult</u>

Place:	School:	Students:	<b>Instructors:</b>
1 <sup>st</sup> Place	Allamakee	Ethan Gibbs Taylor Kiel	Julie Lenth
2 <sup>nd</sup> Place	Marquette Catholic	Koen Roeder Cam Geriach	Hannah McDermott
3 <sup>rd</sup> Place	Cedar Valley Homeschool	Sydney Storm Aja Stallman	Jeff Morgan

### Mousetrap Car

Place:	School:	<b>Students:</b>	<b>Instructors:</b>
1 <sup>st</sup> Place	Hillcrest Academy	Micah Kacmarynski Andrew Kaufman	Robert Kacmarynski
2 <sup>nd</sup> Place	Clayton Ridge	Ethan Squier Will Roth	Joe Sheston
3 <sup>rd</sup> Place	Mouton-Udell	Logan Carter Landon Brinegar	Jeffrey Richard

### Flying Machine

Place:	School:	<b>Students:</b>	Instructors:
1st Place	Allamakee	Ethan Gibbs Taylor Kiel	Julie Lenth
2 <sup>nd</sup> Place	Denver	Garrin Schult Brenner Steck	Jared Pickett
3 <sup>rd</sup> Place	Saint Ansgar	Ella Fahy Jonathon Polido	Devin Schwiesow

### Optical Slalom

Place:	School:	<b>Students:</b>	<b>Instructors:</b>
1st Place	Tripoli	Isabel Bernard McClain Franzen	Paula Carlson
2 <sup>nd</sup> Place	Allamakee	Ethan Gibbs Taylor Kiel	Julie Lenth
3 <sup>rd</sup> Place	Eddyville- Blakesburg-Fremont	Noah Roberts Grant Cabay	Kristen Birchard

#### Fermi Questions

Place:	School:	<b>Students:</b>	<b>Instructors:</b>
1 <sup>st</sup> Place	Pleasant Valley	Alex Larsen Prasanna Senthil Kumar	Brianna Finnegan
2 <sup>nd</sup> Place	Cedar Falls	Eden Reicherts Cedric Liu	Meghan Lang
3 <sup>rd</sup> Place	Cedar Valley Homeschool	John Hruby Myka Rice	Jeff Morgan

#### **CONGRATULATIONS AND THANK YOU!**

Congratulations to everyone who placed and participated in this year's State Competition!!! A big thank you goes out to the Rules/Advisory Committee; UNI Physics Department, UNI STEM Support Services, teachers for helping and supporting the competition; Mike Bobeldyk and the UNI Maucker Union for allowing us to have this venue, and to all the volunteers who helped with preparation, set up, judging, scoring, and clean up!! We couldn't have done it without you! THANK-YOU! Hope to see you next year!

#### **QUESTIONS**

If you have any questions about the State of Iowa Physics Competition, check out our website provided at the beginning of this document or contact Larry Escalada via email (<u>Lawrence.Escalada@uni.edu</u>).