State of Iowa Physics Competition Results April 12, 2022

SUMMARY

The University of Northern Iowa Department of Physics hosted the State of Iowa Physics Competition from 9:30 am to 12:30 pm in the UNI McLeod Center on Tuesday, April 12, 2022. See https://chas.uni.edu/physics/outreach/physics-competition for more information about the Physics Competition.

Approximately 120 students from 15 different schools from 6 Area Education Agencies in the state of Iowa participated in the state competition. Participating schools include:

- Aplington-Parkersburg High School, Parkersburg, IA
- Alburnett High School, Alburnett, IA
- Clear Creek Amana High School, Tiffin, IA
- Davis County High School, Bloomfield, IA
- Denver High School, Denver, IA
- Dike New Hartford High School, Dike, IA
- Manson NW Webster High School, Manson, IA
- Maquoketa High School, Maquoketa, IA
- Marquette Catholic High School, Bellevue, IA
- Moulton-Udell High School, Moulton, IA
- Nashua-Plainfield High School, Nashua, IA
- Ottumwa High School, Ottumwa, IA
- Pocahontas High School, Pocahontas, IA
- St. Ansgar High School, St. Ansgar, IA
- South Hamilton High School, Jewell, IA

The winners for the overall Physics Competition and each event follow. More detailed results are one Excel spreadsheets also shared with schools. Congratulations to all the participating teachers and students who helped make this year's state competition a success.

2022 State Physics Competition School Team Winners

Place: 1st Place	Schools: Clear Creek Amana (42 points)	Instructors: Brice Jensen
2 nd Place	Manson Northwest Webster (26 points)	Jessica Waller
3rd Place	St. Ansgar (25 points)	Devin Schweisow

2022 State Physics Competition Event Winners

Catapult Place: 1st Place	Schools: St. Ansgar (28.5 cm)	Students: Trysten Bistline Kennedy Schwiesow	Instructors: Devin Schwiesow
2 nd Place	Marquette Catholic (43.9 cm)	Isaac Brinker Kannon Still	Karen Timmerman
3 rd Place	South Hamilton (49.1 cm)	Zachary Campbell Ashton Dewitt	Ali Engels
Mousetrap Ca	r		
Place: 1st Place	Schools: St. Ansgar (1.1 cm)	Students: Jaci Woods Kennedy Schweisow	Instructors: Devin Schwiesow
2 nd Place	Manson NW Webster (1.6 cm)	Naiven Moore Alex Lampier	Jessica Waller
3 rd Place	Clear Creek Amana (2.9 cm)	Keaton Trimpe Jarod Harvey	Brice Jensen
Bridge Buildin	ησ		
Place:	School:	Gr. 1. r	
1 st Place	Clear Creek Amana (4.870 N/g)	Students: Andon Waterbury Isabel Morrow	Instructors: Brice Jensen
1 st Place 2 nd Place	Clear Creek Amana	Andon Waterbury	
	Clear Creek Amana (4.870 N/g) Alburnett	Andon Waterbury Isabel Morrow Isaac Moretz	Brice Jensen
2 nd Place 3 rd Place	Clear Creek Amana (4.870 N/g) Alburnett (1.802 N/g) Davis County (1.140 N/g)	Andon Waterbury Isabel Morrow Isaac Moretz Tytan Bowers Kelsey Rook	Brice Jensen Mark Nall
2 nd Place	Clear Creek Amana (4.870 N/g) Alburnett (1.802 N/g) Davis County (1.140 N/g)	Andon Waterbury Isabel Morrow Isaac Moretz Tytan Bowers Kelsey Rook	Brice Jensen Mark Nall
2 nd Place 3 rd Place Soda Straw A	Clear Creek Amana (4.870 N/g) Alburnett (1.802 N/g) Davis County (1.140 N/g)	Andon Waterbury Isabel Morrow Isaac Moretz Tytan Bowers Kelsey Rook Alyvia VanMannen	Brice Jensen Mark Nall LeRoy Pankey
2 nd Place 3 rd Place Soda Straw A Place:	Clear Creek Amana (4.870 N/g) Alburnett (1.802 N/g) Davis County (1.140 N/g) rm Schools: Marquette Catholic	Andon Waterbury Isabel Morrow Isaac Moretz Tytan Bowers Kelsey Rook Alyvia VanMannen Students: Grace Gerhard	Brice Jensen Mark Nall LeRoy Pankey Instructors:

Measurement

Place: 1st Place	Schools: Aplington-Parkersburg (124)	Students: Taylor Renken Kale Riher	Instructors: Allison Schipper
2 nd Place	Manson NW Webster (123.52)	Aubrey Jorgensen Naiven Moore	Jessica Waller
3 rd Place	Clear Creek Amana (122.90)	Max Carlson Peyton Stadler	Brice Jensen

CONGRATULATIONS AND THANK YOU!

Congratulations to everyone who placed and participated in this year's State Competition!!! A big thank you goes out to the Rules/Advisory Committee; UNI Physics Department, UNI STEM Support Services, AEAs, and teachers for helping and supporting the competition; Brooke Croshier-Sidebotham and the UNI McLeod Center for allowing us to have this venue, and to all the volunteers who helped with preparation, set up, judging, scoring, and clean up!! We couldn't have done it without you! THANK-YOU! Hope to see you next year!

QUESTIONS

If you have any questions about the 2022 State of Iowa Physics Competition, check out our website provided at the beginning of this document or contact Larry Escalada via email (<u>Lawrence.Escalada@uni.edu</u>).