Photo of award recipients


The UNI College of Humanities, Arts and Sciences is pleased to share that three of our alums were nominated for, and received, the Gold Star Award for Outstanding Teaching this year.

This year's awardees from CHAS include: Gail Farber, English language development specialist at Waterloo Lincoln Elementary (1993, M.A., TESOL); Alexander Conyers, 9th-12th grade science, West High School (2010, B.A., Biology Teaching); and Nicole Davis, 5th-12th grade band, Hudson Community Schools (2010, B.M., Music Education, 2012, M.M. Music Education).

The Gold Star Award is co-sponsored by the R.J. McElroy Trust and KWWL television, and aims to recognize outstanding teachers in Black Hawk County. This year, the McElroy Trust received 1,113 nominations for 500 teachers in the county.

The program to honor this year’s Gold Star Teachers will be held at 7 p.m. Sept. 29 in the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center on the University of Northern Iowa campus.

The full list of this year's award winners include:

  • Alexander Conyers, 9th-12th grade science, West High School.
  • Gail Farber, English language development specialist, Waterloo Lincoln Elementary.
  • Ashley Hager, 2nd grade, Cunningham Elementary.
  • Denise Aalderks, 5th grade, Aldrich Elementary.
  • Nicole Davis, 5th-12th grade band, Hudson Community Schools.
  • Rebecca Keeling, 6th grade science and math, Bleesed Maria Assunta Palotta Middle School.
  • Rebecca Lins, counselor, Peet Junior High.
  • Ryan Christoffer, 4th grade, Highland Elementary.
  • Ryan Lehmann, 2nd grade, Lowell Elementary.
  • Sherry Parker, 2nd grade, Dysart-Geneseo Elementary.