About the Department

Who We Are

The Department of Computer Science at UNI offers three undergraduate majors, one minor, and two certificate programs, while contributing essential courses to the interdisciplinary interactive digital studies major. Students are able to prepare for long-term careers in computing and computing-related disciplines, working closely with faculty who are dedicated to the success of their students.

Graduates are highly sought after by major regional employers such as Rockwell Collins, State Farm, and Principal and by smaller firms such as Banno and DISTek Integration. An increasing number of students are choosing to go on for master’s and doctoral programs at schools such as the University of Iowa, the University of Minnesota, Indiana University, Florida State University, and the University of California, Santa Barbara.

In the spring of 2006, the Department of Computer Science moved to the new Innovative Teaching and Technology Center, in the renovated historic East Gym. The ITTC blends historic architecture with modern design and gives the department an opportunity to expand its laboratory facilities for faculty and student use. It also affords picturesque views of the UNI campus to the west and south.